An Introduction

In an effort to hone my craft, I will be adding pieces of my writer’s journey to share this most interesting endeavor. It has been equal parts joy, angst, challenge, and hard work.

Currently, I’m working hard to get my first manuscript ready for public consumption.  In the past year and a half I kicked my writing into high gear and completed five manuscripts.  Hold it!  Those were not completed for submission manuscripts, they were first drafts.  Nevertheless, antiquated to nearly 300,000 words. Some are big words, and some are little words, but still that’s a lot of pages that need to be revised, rewritten, or trashed.

10 years ago I started a medical mystery, which very slowly became a book.  A large complicated, intriguing murder mystery with at least eight primary equal number of secondary characters.  I’m talking epic.  And I’m talking unwieldy.  So it’s forlornly waiting for me to come back to and rewrite. Jump forward to 2008. Faced with the beginning of my third NaNoWriMo (national novel writers month) I plucked one of my characters out that  epic saga and threw her into a love story.  Thus, began the Agent  series.

Zeke Beignet is my noble FBI agent. She’s a woman, she’s multiracial, she’s a lesbian, and now she is psychically damaged. One too many undercover jobs and this time the victims made a personal connection.  Her recovery will be long and complicated.  One of those complications will be a familiar looking nurse who can get through the well designed, protective barrier, and into the heart of the wounded warrior.

For this reason, I am now halfway through a fourth book in the series.  And clearly, my muse is not finished.  The fact of the matter is, I enjoy reading this about as much as I enjoy writing it.

2 thoughts on “An Introduction

  1. A very attractive blog :>) I’ll be following it and your wonderful journey into the rarified air of the published author . . .

Leave a Reply

